Coronavirus virus confirmed in Singapore; China closed five cities

Wuhan: China has shut down five cities to control its rapidly spreading coronavirus.

Huanggang, Ijou, Shijiang and Qian Jiang were closed indefinitely following the Wuhan, where the virus was first reported. Travel to and from Wuhan was banned on Wednesday.

The city was ordered Thursday to suspend public transit, including flights, buses, trains and ferries in cities. The restrictions have been tightened after the city closed the news that the city’s residents were crowded into railway stations and airports. The authorities have issued a directive not to leave the area without ‘special reasons’.

Huanggang, Ijou, Shijiang and Qian Jiang were restored by Thursday night.


Two and a half million people will be affected. The Chinese New Year celebrations were also restricted.

Meanwhile, the virus was confirmed in Singapore on Thursday. The 66-year-old from Wuhan was diagnosed with the disease. Apart from China, the disease has been reported in Thailand, Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, the U.S., Macau, Hong Kong, Vietnam and Saudi Arabia.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *